Homemade Granola Bars 1.0

20120516-224751.jpg

There has been a couple of times recently at work where I was so busy that I couldn’t step away to go get lunch. Luckily, I had a few granola bars that I had picked up from the Green Festival few weeks back. While they were not exactly lunch material, they did tie me over till dinner…well, almost. =p

When I was at the supermarket the other night, I was tempted to buy some granola bars just so I have something semi healthy to snack on in those dire times. But as I was standing there comparing the Kashi and the Quaker bars to see which one is healthier…I suddenly thought, “maybe I should try to make these myself instead!”

So last night, when J was out at a church meeting, I decided to make my very first homemade granola bars. After pouring over several recipes online, I decided to do a combination of couple recipes and make my own. But definitely checkout some of these other blogs as some got great tips and photos!

  • Lauren’s Latest
  • Honest Cooking
  • Simple Organized Living
  • Anny’s Homemade Granola Bars 1.0

    Ingredients:

    2 cups of old fashion oats
    1 cup rice cereal
    3/4 cup chopped almonds
    1/3 cup crasins
    1/4 cup chocolate chips
    2 tbsp hemp seeds
    1/3 cup honey
    1/3 cup natural peanut butter
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    Dash of cinnamon powder

    Directions:
    1. Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl: oats, rice cereal, almonds, crasins, chocolate chips, hemp seeds. Set aside. (Optional: chopped up the oats in a mini blender for a few seconds first.)
    2. Melt honey and peanut butter together over low heat until well blended. Pour in vanilla extra and cinnamon and stir.
    3. Pour honey mixture into the dry ingredients and fold everything together until moist and sticky.

    20120516-221834.jpg

    4. Tear out a big piece of wax paper or saran wrap (three times the size you’ll need). Place over a 8×8 pan, with the extras sticking out on both side.
    5. Pour mixture into pan. Fold the extra wax paper/Saran wrap over the mixture and press firmly to desired thickness.

    20120516-222917.jpg

    6. Leave in fridge for at least an hour to set.
    7. Once out of the fridge, lift the wax paper out of the pan. Cut the bars into 16 pieces.
    8. Eat and enjoy!

